Lima, Municipalidad Metropolitana de Lima, Peru


Ancient capital of the Viceroyalty of Peru with a cultural contrast in its monuments and colonial buildings

About Lima, Municipalidad Metropolitana de Lima, Peru

Lima, the capital city of Peru, is one of the most populated cities in Latin America, located on the shores of the Rímac River. Also known as the Kings' City, Lima was founded in 1535 by Francisco Pizarro due its strategic and geographical conditions. The city was capital of the Viceroyalty of Peru, and the largest and most important of South America. However, before its foundation there were several Inca towns settled in the territory, which left a cultural heritage. Lima is currently the political, cultural, financial, and trading hub of the country, with an economy based in major sectors such as commerce and tourism. This city has an architecture characterized by the mix of styles, result of the changes over the years. Lima has an extensive fusion of customs and cultures reflected in the colonial and Republican architecture of its colonial buildings, churches, museums, and squares. The historic center declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO, houses colonial structures such as the Basilica, Catedral de Lima, Convento de San Francisco, Palacio de Gobierno, and Palacio de Torre Tagle, among many others. Each monument has a unique history; some were built the same day of the foundation of the city, and others are old convents and beautiful mansions, and undoubtedly all of them are considered cultural jewels of the city. Lima also keeps evidences of a pre-Hispanic time. The sanctuary of Pachacamac is the most popular, where people worshiped the God of the same name; and an important ceremonial center of the central coast, Pucllana, Huallamarca, and Puruchuco. The city also has a large number of museums including Museo Nacional de Arqueología, Antropología e Historia de Perú; Museo Nacional de la Cultura Peruana, Museo Arqueológico Rafael Larco Herrera, and Museo de la Nación. The parks in Lima are also considered tourist attractions, and some of them are in the historic center, such as Parque de la Exposición, Campo de Marte, Parque Universitario, and Parque de la Reserva, consisting of a complex of fountains known as El Circuito Mágico del Agua. ***The official currency of Peru is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN).